Ready. Set. Listen.

Standard

Retro microphone on stage in restaurant. Blurred background

While I was growing up, I remember hearing different stories on the radio. My family would listen to Adventure in Odyssey every night at 6:00 pm while we drove home from school. My family and I normally took this time to enjoy the silence and absorb the new story each day. After the story time was over we would normally discuss the different events that occurred. This daily ride with my family brought us closer together even though at the time we didn’t even notice that. I normally enjoyed the different stories told on the radio or even listening to audio books in my free time, letting my mind run free and create a world in my mind was very exciting to me. No one could ever tell you that the way you created a character in your mind was wrong.

I loved listening to Stochasticity by Radiolab and I was already hooked on the show once the music began. I didn’t realize how much control people have when they are telling the story and choose certain sounds to be in the background. This does not always have to be a song playing, but different fun sound effects that can either make you feel so happy or even sad. I got so trapped into the stories being told that I forgot about the background music and how it made me feel the suspense at the right moments. I loved not knowing what was coming next when we were introduced to the the two women who have the same first and last name. I thought this was crazy and the fact that the description of the two girls made me visualize what they would look like if they were sitting right in front of me. I think that telling an audio story is harder than I thought it would be, but I am ready for the challenge and I keep thinking of better ideas that I am trying to make as interesting as possible without it being too dramatic.

 

Fun sound piece:

Leave a comment